• Facebook
  • Twitter


Hello, fellow wine lovers!

Established in 1981, the competition has followed the progress of our country’s wine industry from its infancy to where it stands today—vibrant and full of promise. This year’s judging marks thirty eight years of critiquing Canadian wines, by an esteemed panel of 20 wine writers, sommeliers and accredited wine judges, from coast to coast.

Wines are submitted, sorted by category, price and sugar, wrapped, and then assigned to the panel for assessment. Our entries are scored using the 100 point scale, examined for sensory components, varietal character, and structural soundness.

A top scoring Double Gold will emerge in each of approximately 48 categories. The Double Gold from each category will advance to the Trophy round, to be re-tasted by all judges. There are 5 Best Wine of the Year Trophies to be won—White wine, Red wine, Dessert wine, Sparkling wine and Fruit wine. The following descending 10% of scores will be assigned Gold, Silver and Bronze respectively.  These will represent the judges’ opinions of what are Canada’s best wines, each receiving the coveted commissioned artwork you see here.


Bev Carnahan
All Canadian Wine Championships

Order Your Stickers

Every bottle deserves its meal

Items of Interest

John Paul Robinson
The Artist’s Words: the ACWC trophy

Past Winners

A look back at ACWC winners